Five Stormy Petrels Named to SAA Fall All-Sportsmanship Teams

Five Stormy Petrels Named to SAA Fall All-Sportsmanship Teams

The SAA released their 2017 Fall All-Sportsmanship Teams Friday, recognizing student-athletes who displayed outstanding sportsmanship over the course of their seasons. The five Stormy Petrels selected join a total of 56 student-athletes among the conference's eight full-time and five affiliate members across its seven sponsored fall sports.

The 2017 Oglethorpe student-athletes who have earned SAA Fall All-Sportsmanship accolades are:

Men's cross country - Rodrigo Meade (Fr., Fort Smith, Ark.)
Women's cross country - Reagan Goodwin (Fr., Marietta, Ga.)
Men's soccer - Stefan Williams (Sr., Woodstock, Ga.)
Women's soccer - Precious Buddington (Jr., Covington, Ga.)
Volleyball - Evan Furst (Jr., Hillsborough, N.C.)

Formed in 2011, the SAA places a special emphasis on good sportsmanship and fair play amongst all competitors. In addition, sportsmanship is a key tenet of the GA2MES (Global/National Experience, Academic Success, Athletic Success, Mentoring, Engagement and Sportsmanship) Plan, an initiative to foster growth and involvement between athletics and other parts of the Oglethorpe University campus. The GA2MES Plan puts a strong emphasis on sportsmanship, as the athletic department looks to foster a positive athletic experience for all participants at Oglethorpe athletic events.