Arnett, Shealy Named Jack Nicklaus Award Semifinalists

Arnett, Shealy Named Jack Nicklaus Award Semifinalists

The Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) named Oglethorpe sophomore men's golfers Jacob Arnett and Kyle Shealy as semifinalists for the 2017 Division III Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award Friday. It marks the second consecutive Nicklaus Award semifinalist nod for Shealy, and the first such honor of Arnett's career.

The two Stormy Petrels join a list of 30 Division III golfers from around the nation to be named Nicklaus Award semifinalists. The list will be pared to five finalists on May 16 at the GCAA awards banquet, as part of the NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championship at Mission Inn Resort and Club in Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida. 

Arnett and Shealy will be looking to join Oglethorpe alumni Trent Erb and Anthony Maccaglia, who won the Nicklaus Award in 2004 and 2015, respectively.

"We are thrilled with the selection of a couple of our players as Nicklaus Award semifinalists," said Oglethorpe Director of Golf Jim Owen. "I'm proud of Jake Arnett's steady season and big win at Jekyll Island. Shealy followed up his national freshman of the year campaign with a good sophomore season and earned himself a place on the semifinalist list, as well. A great national tournament for both or either of these guys should move them into the final five."

The GCAA will announce the winner of the award on June 1, with the honor presented by Jack Nicklaus himself at a ceremony during the final round of the PGA Tour's Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio. In addition, the five recipients (one each from Division I, Division II, Division III, NAIA and junior college) will compete in the Barbasol Shootout on June 3 at Scioto Country Club in Columbus for an exemption into the PGA Tour's Barbasol Championship, held July 20 through 23 at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National in Opelika, Alabama.