Oglethorpe Athletics Closes 2017-18 Season with Petey Awards Ceremony

Oglethorpe Athletics Closes 2017-18 Season with Petey Awards Ceremony

The Oglethorpe athletic department rounded out the season with the Sixth Annual Petey Awards on Sunday, hosted at the university's Turner Lynch Campus Center. The event, which is produced by the Oglethorpe Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), allowed Oglethorpe student-athletes to honor the best and brightest performances of the year while reflecting on the 2017-18 athletic year as a whole.

Awards were given out in a variety of categories, including:

Female Breakthrough Stormy Petrel - Savannah LeGate, Basketball
Male Breakthrough Stormy Petrel - Ryan Marcano, Soccer
Most Spirited Team - Volleyball
Men's Scholarly Petrel Team Award - Track and field
Women's Scholarly Petrel Team Award - Basketball
Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year - Celina Kassam, Soccer
Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year - Mateo Villa, Cross country/track and field
Most Improved Team - Women's basketball
Stormy Petrel Women's Team Coach of the Year - Alex Richey, Basketball
Stormy Petrel Men's Team Coach of the Year - Jon Akin, Soccer
Stormy Petrel Women's Team of the Year - Basketball
Stormy Petrel Men's Team of the Year - Soccer
Female Athlete of the Year - Savannah LeGate, Basketball
Male Athlete of the Year - (tie) Jacob Arnett, Golf; Andrew Mink, Baseball
Stormiest Petrel of the Year - Sedaries Mathis, Women's lacrosse/soccer
Female Stormy Petrel of the Year - Caroline Johnson, Tennis
Male Stormy Petrel of the Year - Jordan Locke, Soccer

In addition, student-athletes earned recognition for SAA awards and all-conference teams. Seniors earned their framed "O" senior awards, commemorating their time as members of the Stormy Petrels. 

Oglethorpe SAAC President Rebecca Spry outlined all the endeavors the organization undertook over the course of the academic year, including the talent show, Division III Week, National Girls and Women in Sports Day, and visits to Children's Healthcare of Atlanta. 

At the end of the night, Caleb Feibus, this year's vice president, was introduced as SAAC president for the 2018-19 academic year, with Jalisa Kassam holding vice president duties.