NCAA officially announces Division III men's golf tournament field

NCAA officially announces Division III men's golf tournament field

The field for the NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships is set, and the Stormy Petrels will take part for the 19th time in their history. The Division III men's golf committee announced the 42-team field Monday.

Oglethorpe booked a spot when they secured their third SAA championship, and an automatic bid with it, on April 28. They took home the title at the SAA Golf Championships in Dickson, Tennessee, with a 23-stroke victory over second-place Berry. 

Keene Trace Golf Club in Nicholasville, Kentucky, is set to host the four-day, 72-hole national tournament which runs May 14-17. 

In addition to the 42 teams, the selection committee chose the six best individual players not on those teams to compete with the rest of the field for the individual national championship. After 36 holes of play, the field will be cut to the top 18 teams and the top six individuals not on those teams, with players from cut teams eligible for the individual spots.

The No. 16 Petrels serve as the only SAA team to make the field, though Berry's Preston DeSantis was selected as an individual. No. 1 Emory earned their way into the tournament field and serves as the only other team from Georgia in the mix.

In addition to their No. 16 team ranking, the Petrels have two players ranked in the top 55 according to the Golfstat player ranking. Senior Jake Arnett, who earned SAA Men's Golfer of the Year honors and won the conference's individual title with a record-breaking 54-hole score of 11-under-par 205, sits at No. 13. Meanwhile, sophomore Anthony DeRosa, who earned All-SAA second-team honors, checks in at No. 52.